Comment from Robert Chodos on More Than Just Traffic, and Reply

Comment From Robert Chodos:

I agree with the post, but I don’t know how to stop it. We need leadership and unity. I’m not against growth, but this growth without the proper infrastructure will hurt our quality of life and lower our property values. And because of the uniqueness of where we live, being surrounded by water, there is a limit to growth without it becoming detrimental to our quality of life. And I think we have already reached that limit.

Reply:

Thank you for your comment.  As you can see from prior posts, I, too, am not opposed to growth.  However, my assessment is that residential growth and the generation of property tax will always lag behind the fiscal demands of our jurisdictions.  My alternative for a long-term strategy is linking education and innovation as one possible means of fostering economic growth.  (See my post, Let’s Combine Education, Innovation  12/1/15 , which was also a Guest Column in the Capital on Monday, November 23, 2015.  We have the basic building blocks to create a unique capability that could benefit and enrich the community.

You may also be interested in my editorial on 6/22/16 in the Capital, on Crystal Spring.

 

Leave a comment