Open Letter

From Alderman Arnett (not received until Tuesday afternoon, too late to attend the Monday meeting):

Ward 8 and Friends

Annapolis Chief of Police Mike Pristoop is under attack. I want you to know that I support for him and the police officers that risk their lives each day to provide us protection. I hope you will join me in that support.

You may have seen an editorial in Monday’s Capital by Carl Snowden. Sadly, Mr. Snowden’s editorial was full of false information. Today’s headline was “Group votes no Confidence in the city chief.” The group voting no confidence is the Caucus of African-American Leaders. I support their right to their opinion.

However, I want to make it crystal clear that I have confidence in the Chief and the force he leads. And I don’t have confidence in some leaders of the Caucus, whom I believe are acting with ulterior motives.

The City Council Public Safety Committee is meeting Monday evening at 5 PM in Council Chambers. I ask that as many of you as possible come to that meeting as a show of support for the Chief and his officers.

As it happens, there is good reason to come to the meeting in any event as the agenda includes discussion on Community Policing; Progress on Police Initiatives (body cameras, etc.); and a draft Council Resolution in support of the Police force and Chief.

So please, if you can make it, do come out Monday evening to support the Annapolis Police Department and hear about their accomplishments.

Ross

 

Leave a comment